BEAU JENNINGS | Holy Tulsa Thunder CD

BEAU JENNINGS | Holy Tulsa Thunder CD


1 Holy Tulsa Thunder
2 San Juan Capistrano
3 Bob Dollar
4 The Opolis
5 Eastern Clouds
6 In My Veins Again
7 In Time For Spring
8 Girl From Oklahoma
9 I Woke Before The Dawn
10 Tulsa Sound

Beau Jennings may hang his hat in Brooklyn these days, but the subject matter of his carefully crafted songs on his solo debut, Holy Tulsa Thunder, remain tied to his home state of Oklahoma. After releasing two full length records with his New York twang-rock collaboration, Cheyenne, Jennings called upon longtime friend and producer Chad Copelin (Bishop Allen, The Umbrellas) to record this album. All the songs on Holy Tulsa Thunder were recorded live in Copelin's Oklahoma studio, using pianist Ryan Lindsey (Starlight Mints), and the rhythm section of drummer James McAlister and bassist Jeff Shoop (both of whom backed Sufjan Stevens on his Illionois tour). All the musicians grew up around Tulsa, passing hot summer days at Bell's Amusement Park, the demise of which is a recurring theme throughout the ten song record.
To settle any potential controversy, Beau Jennings is still the frontman for Cheyenne. However, how Jennings had the time to write melodies this brash and beautiful while playing and recording non-stop with his original outfit, the world may never know. The once ever-changing group of musicians comprising Cheyenne has now solidified, and Jennings says he "just needed a new outlet for songs that don't fit the band's now firm lineup and sound."
Occasionally channeling the energy of young Bruce Springsteen, other times the delicate vocals of Jeff Tweedy, Jennings has quietly crafted an Americana masterpiece with Holy Tulsa Thunder. It's Nebraska through a Being There kaleidoscope. It's a late night requiem for the lost stomping grounds of youth that forever stand tall in our memories. It's a drinking record. Pour yourself a whiskey and give it a spin!

released July 8, 2008
Recorded live between December 18 and December 23, 2007 at Blackwatch Studios in Norman, OK
Produced, recorded and mixed by Chad Copelin. Assisted by Jarod Evans. Mastered by TW Walsh.
All songs written by Beau Jennings.
Originally released July 8, 2008 by A Silence Production.

Beau Jennings - vocals, guitar, piano
Ryan Lindsey - piano, guitar, background vocals
James McAlister - drums, percussion
Jeff Shoop - bass, background vocals
Chad Copelin - bass on "San Juan Capistrano"

Add To Cart